Countries exempt from coronavirus travel quarantine revealed

A full list of the countries exempt from England's coronavirus travel quarantine has been released by the government.

The list includes more than 70 countries and territories where English holidaymakers can visit without self-isolating on their return.

Fourteen British Overseas Territories are also included, with Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man already exempt.

Image: The government said the approved destinations pose 'a reduced risk to the public health of UK citizens'

Among the countries not on the list are the US, Portugal, Sweden, Mexico, Brazil, Russia, Iran, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, China and Taiwan.

The exemptions will apply from 10 July.


The Department for Transport said the approved destinations pose "a reduced risk to the public health of UK citizens", but the list will be kept "under constant review".

It has indicated that reciprocal arrangements between England and overseas nations have not been confirmed.

More from Covid-19

It is Downing Street's "expectation" that a number of exempted countries will also not require arrivals from the UK to self-isolate.

Officials "continue to work closely with international partners around the world to discuss arrangements for travellers arriving from the UK," the government has said.

preview image
Sturgeon calls UK govt 'shambolic'

Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland will "set out their own approach" to exemptions, the Department for Transport has said.

The first ministers of Wales and Scotland have criticised the UK government's "shambolic" handling of its coronavirus travel quarantine.

The full list is as follows: