Thursday, May 26, 2022
Latest News from Cambridge and England

Royal Mail reveals 28 areas where Covid has limited deliveries

Royal Mail has published a list of 28 areas across the UK that no longer receive regular post because many…

By admin , in Money , at January 12, 2021 Tags:

Royal Mail has published a list of 28 areas across the UK that no longer receive regular post because many staff have contracted coronavirus or are self-isolating.

People living in areas such as Daventry, Barnsley, Leeds, Margate and large parts of London – including Highbury, Wandsworth and Hornsey – are receiving limited deliveries.

Royal Mail said: “Despite our best efforts and significant investment in extra resource, some customers may experience slightly longer delivery timescales than our usual service standards.

“This is due to the exceptionally high volumes we are seeing, exacerbated by the coronavirus-related measures we have put in place in local mail centres and delivery offices to keep our people and customers safe. In such cases, we always work hard to get back to providing our usual level of service as quickly as we can.”

Customers have reported delays to postal services on social media sites including Twitter in recent days, beyond the busy Christmas period.

A number of Royal Mail staff who work at the delivery office in Lincoln are self-isolating after three confirmed cases at the site. The delivery office in Margate carried out a deep clean last week after three members of staff tested positive for Covid-19 and about 20 people are now isolating.

The delivery issues have raised concerns that letters sent to people over 80 inviting them to be vaccinated against coronavirus may not get to them in time.

Royal Mail’s list of areas with limited deliveries:

  • Ashford (TN23-TN27)
  • Barnsley (S70, S71, S72 and S75)
  • Basildon (SS13-SS16)
  • Bow (E3)
  • Bury St Edmunds (IP28-IP33)
  • Chelmsford (CM1-CM3)
  • Christchurch (BH23)
  • Daventry (NN11)
  • Debden (IG7-IG10)
  • Enfield (EN1-EN3)
  • Grays (RM16-RM20)
  • Hampton (TW12)
  • Highbury (N5)
  • Hornsey (N8)
  • Horsham (RH12, RH13)
  • Ilford (IG1-IG6)
  • Leeds City (LS1-LS5)
  • Lewisham (SE13)
  • Magherafelt (BT45, BT46)
  • Margate (CT7-CT9)
  • Rugeley (WS15)
  • Somerton (TA11)
  • South Ockendon (RM15)
  • South Woodford (E18)
  • Upper Holloway (N7)
  • Wandsworth (SW18)
  • Wellington (TA21)
  • Widnes (WA8)